First off – I want to give credit to Naomi Moneypenny for the idea of tagging threads in Yammer with #YammerWin. (Or at least I believe it was her) I think that’s a brilliant idea and helps to demonstrate that you would use a product like Yammer for more than just water cooler gossip. When I started to think about the job though of trolling Yammer for #YammerWins it occurred to me that it’s kind of a copy & paste intensive process. There’s also no quick way of getting a count of how many #YammerWins you have, etc. Sure you can click the #YammerWin hashtag in your group and then see all the different threads which certainly works but it’s not super organized.

I’m a consultant and development is what we tend to do – but to be honest, I don’t have the warm & fuzzies about doing custom development on top of Yammer. T

So then Microsoft Flow came along and I got a really cool idea. What if I could build a Flow that would do the data collection for me and then store it in a SharePoint list? Once it’s in a list I can do anything from kicking off workflows, to building mini-reports for management, etc. Talk about a #MicrosoftFlowWin

So I did & here’s what my Flow looks like:

YammerWin

  1. The trigger is when a new item is created in a Group (point at a Yammer Group)
  2. I include a condition, if the Message Text contains #yammerwin
  3. If yes, it creates an item in a SharePoint list

My SharePoint list has a few extra columns (MessageText, URL, and CreatedAt) and I map the following attributes from the Yammer post so that I can see the message text, when it was created, and the URL to the actual object.

YammerWin2

Once that’s all set I let the flow fire and when someone in the group sends a message which includes #YammerWin, the Flow picks it up and creates an item in SharePont:

YammerWinSharePoint

As many of you know – once the item is in SharePont, you can do anything! You can build custom reports to show management, have a workflow that assigns this to one of your Knowledge Management librarians for curation, etc. The URL also allows your librarian to go ahead and view the thread for context should the message text not contain all the information that they would need to help build the knowledge management record.

For those building Knowledge Management Portals in SharePoint – this is a really great way to start to capture your #YammerWins in a structured fashion.

Cheers to Naomi for the idea, and to the Microsoft Flow team for building the technology!

Well done! #MicrosoftFlowWin!

2 thoughts on “Leveraging Microsoft Flow to Capture #YammerWins for Knowledge Management

  1. The only gotcha, is that I cant do it against the All Company feed. More of a Yammer constraint then Flow since that has always been a problem when developing with Yammer since that feed doesn’t have a groupID.

Leave a Reply

